An unusual but by no means unique name (there is another at Mossley near Manchester) the Welcome Return is one of at least four ‘Welcome’ pubs that sprang up in the Three Towns in the nineteenth century (there was also the Welcome Home Sailor in Castle Dyke Lane, the Welcome Inn in Richmond Street and the Welcome Brothers in St Stephen Street, Devonport).
The Welcome Return would seem to have been the first pub to appear in Mount Street, however following the opening of the Flying Horse at No.8 in the 1850s and the Navy Arms in the 1860s, at No.3, it seems that the decision was taken to close the Welcome Return as a pub – it reopened as a greengrocery for a while.
The Welcome Return was No.1 Mount Street, on the corner with St Stephen’s Street.
1847 - James Bath
1852 - William Coram
1865 - Job Cheek